and a private tour to boot ;)

There are distinct advantages to having a mother who has been a castle tour guide for the last 30 plus years and we had no shame in making the most of them to get her to give us a private tour of Rockingham Castle before we started having to scatter to the four winds last week.
You can see a brief history of the place here http://www.rockinghamcastle.com/69/History_of_Rockingham_Castle but of course I grew up with the castle basically next door to me across the fields and my brother and I remember getting presents from ‘Santa’ when he arrived at the castle every Xmas and handed them out to the local children there although I think we may have known even then that it was really Sir Michael Culme-Seymour dressed up ;)

Easy to see from these first two views of the Castle that it spans many different eras architecturally….

IMG_2546

IMG_2574_2

IMG_2582

IMG_2584

IMG_2579
and no surprise why it was built on this site since you can see 5 different English counties from these walls.
IMG_2572

IMG_2552

IMG_2547
is it just me or does this look like my brother is keeping watch while we knock over the Gift Shop or something similar??!
IMG_2549
mother in full tour guide mode! ;)
IMG_2553

IMG_2551

IMG_0854

IMG_0845
and yes, trying on the helmets was everyone’s favorite thing to do! ;)

About girlonahandcycle

Natural Brit/Naturalized American wife, mom, all around old broad still happily ignoring my MS (since 1985 - ha!) every time it slows me down I find a way to speed back up which explains my very cool Tilite wheelchair and Top End handcycle ..........also my ripped arms ; ) Don't get back to the homeland or to other cool places quite as easily or often as I'd like anymore so theoretically my rambling here keeps me a little more connected to far away friends and family.
This entry was posted in life, life ........with wheels ; ), travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

