From the other side

20110726-102537.jpg

Yes, we’re going to have to get used to this view of Seattle once we move since we’ll be looking at it from the west instead of the east every time we head downtown. Looks a little different but still a drop dead gorgeous city ; )
I know Taryn, it’s not Manhattan (she has been known to sniff at our cityscape!) but she’ll have forgotten how cool that is after 3 years in Gainesville! Sadly we are getting rain, clouds and low 60s at the moment but Taryn is getting to experience some of her first southern thunderstorms – loud, windy and VERY wet in comparison to our more genteel moisture ; ) We did actually get a wonderfully hot and sunny weekend last week and everyone came out in droves to enjoy it – we were overdue!
Thankfully, after the horror that was Norway last week and the tragic waste of Amy Winehouse’s talent together with too many local shootings and accidents there have been some good things going on which were sorely needed and much appreciated. My neighbors welcomed their first baby into the world and of course he is perfect and gorgeous, I heard news of a new baby expected in our family too so that’s exciting, especially for Joseph and Alex ; ) A friend’s daughter gets married next Saturday in sunny California and as we well know, getting together with friends and family to celebrate something so happy is just joyous ; ) On top of all that David’s cousin Carolyn flies in from Texas tomorrow for a few days before she and Greg go off to celebrate their anniversary up here in the Pacific Northwest. They’re escaping the heat in Houston which is good because they certainly won’t find any up here! Anyway, they are great people to hang out with and always lots of fun so I’m excited to see them. Too bad David doesn’t get home until Saturday so he’ll have to catch them next time.
In the meantime I have started my rounds of meeting up with everyone for drinks and food and gossip before I leave the Eastside and am discovering that lots of my friends here actually have a lot of ties to West Seattle – they have friends there or grew up there or lived there at some point so I don’t think I’ll feel quite as far away as I thought I might. I haven’t heard anything bad about West Seattle either yet! Yeah, yeah, I know – that will change just as soon as I move there ; )

About girlonahandcycle

Natural Brit/Naturalized American wife, mom, grandma and all around old broad still happily ignoring my MS (since 1985 - ha!). Every time it slows me down I find a way to speed back up which explains my very cool Tilite wheelchair and Top End handcycle ..........also my ripped arms ; ) Don't get back to the homeland or to other cool places quite as easily or often as I'd like anymore so theoretically my rambling here keeps me a little more connected to far away friends and family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

