What’s wrong with this picture??

..apart from the fact that there’s too much stuff crammed into this room of course ; )
It rained pretty much without a break yesterday so after waiting all day to hit the street I finally gave up and figured I’d do the bike trainer instead. Got down there (one day this will be my exercise room!) and discovered there was no way to get my wheelchair close enough to the handcycle for me to get on it.
David had put together my inversion board before he left on his latest trip and it just hadn’t occurred to me to check that he’d left room for me to get around it. Tried moving the inversion board but A its not that easy and B the only places I could move it to involved me being trapped behind it or not being able to get in and out of the room…sigh. Actually that’s not quite true – there’s a door to the deck and I could have gone out another door and come in the outside door but it was raining remember and that would have involved wet wheels on carpet – not good!

So, here I am exerciseless in Seattle and although today looks drier I have a friend coming over this afternoon plus the electrician, the builder and a man putting up my window blinds – hooray – at various times throughout the day so who knows if I’ll manage to put a couple of miles in or not.

OK what’s happened lately…well, big news was of course that Amanda Knox was freed and returned home. Big news here because she is from West Seattle and attended UW where Chelsea is finishing up her Masters. David was at the airport heading out as her plane was heading in and snapped this shot –

After our touch of Indian Summer the temperatures dropped and yesterday I awoke to see a fresh dusting of snow on the Olympics. It is October already I know but I wasn’t quite ready for that reminder that winter isn’t that far away! We also had a water rescue almost immediately in front of where we live now – police cars, ambulances, helicopters. They managed to get a woman suffering from hyperthermia out of the water and to the hospital, possible suicide attempt as opposed to someone swimming out there I think.

The house is closer to being 100% done – drywall repair and touch up painting all done from adding grab bars where I needed them, trim put on the cabinets, automatic door put on my wheelchair lift……and my window treatment guy just got here so tonight I will have blinds on the bedroom and bathroom windows – nice ; ) Of course David will probably miss his classy packing paper and blue tape….who does he think looks through the windows at old wrinkly people do you think??!!

pretty huh?? ; )

About girlonahandcycle

Natural Brit/Naturalized American wife, mom, grandma and all around old broad still happily ignoring my MS (since 1985 - ha!). Every time it slows me down I find a way to speed back up which explains my very cool Tilite wheelchair and Top End handcycle ..........also my ripped arms ; ) Don't get back to the homeland or to other cool places quite as easily or often as I'd like anymore so theoretically my rambling here keeps me a little more connected to far away friends and family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

