MLK Jr Day


When the girls were growing up our local newspaper would run full page ads ahead of Martin Luther King Jr. Day with parts of his ‘I Have A Dream’ speech in them. Thank you Seattle Times ; ) I loved to read the excerpts out loud to the kids (that speech SOUNDED so great) and they especially loved the “by the content of their character and not by the color of their skin” part. We’d put them up on the ‘fridge and I looked forward to them coming out every year, as well as the day off school in the middle of a dreary January! Great to read and listen to as well as talk to the girls about. Then when the girls were much older I realised that I didn’t see those pieces in the paper any more. Much later I read this, which may well explain it.

Copyright Dispute: Because King’s speech was broadcast to a large radio and television audience, there was controversy about the copyright status of the speech. If the performance of the speech constituted “general publication”, it would have entered the public domain due to King’s failure to register the speech with the Registrar of Copyrights. If the performance only constituted “limited publication”, however, King retained common law copyright. This led to a lawsuit, Estate of Martin Luther King, Jr., Inc. v. CBS, Inc., which established that the King estate does hold copyright over the speech and had standing to sue; the parties then settled. Unlicensed use of the speech or a part of it can still be lawful in some circumstances, especially in jurisdictions under doctrines such as fair use or fair dealing. Under the applicable copyright laws, the speech will remain under copyright in the United States until 70 years after King’s death, thus until 2038.

So when I’m 80 you know what I’ll be ripping out of the paper and sticking up on my ‘fridge again. Aren’t you impressed that I restrained myself from saying ” I have a dream ” that I’ll be doing that??!!!

About girlonahandcycle

Natural Brit/Naturalized American wife, mom, grandma and all around old broad still happily ignoring my MS (since 1985 - ha!). Every time it slows me down I find a way to speed back up which explains my very cool Tilite wheelchair and Top End handcycle ..........also my ripped arms ; ) Don't get back to the homeland or to other cool places quite as easily or often as I'd like anymore so theoretically my rambling here keeps me a little more connected to far away friends and family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

