Cocoons and Windstorms


While we were riding out a big windstorm that went on until after four this morning in Seattle, David was hanging out in Tokyo and sent me this very cool picture of one of their skyscrapers. Of course it turns out he was more interested in the lights on the traffic circle but I found out the story on the Mode Gakuen Cocoon Tower, the result of a competition where the main rule was that the finished building could not be rectangular. Full details are on Wikipedia if you’re interested ; )

David is already en route to L.A. and he’ll be staying downtown there too but it’s a short layover so I doubt he’ll be out and about too much. Back here it is still pretty windy and luckily for me Tom, our elevator guy dropped by to replace something (he worries about me ever since I trapped half my book club in there!) and he picked up my recycling container and put it back in the garage for me. Our trash and food/waste containers are really small with only the two of us but the recycling is this huge blue behemoth of a thing. Hard enough for me to even reach up and open or close the lid let alone get it up again after it had blown over. We do fill it though since it’s only collected every other week and you know how we Seattleites LOVE our recycling ; )
Anyway, the worst of the wind is done for now, the sun is out, the rain has stopped and I have someone coming over for happy hour so things are pretty much back to normal around here.

About girlonahandcycle

Natural Brit/Naturalized American wife, mom, grandma and all around old broad still happily ignoring my MS (since 1985 - ha!). Every time it slows me down I find a way to speed back up which explains my very cool Tilite wheelchair and Top End handcycle ..........also my ripped arms ; ) Don't get back to the homeland or to other cool places quite as easily or often as I'd like anymore so theoretically my rambling here keeps me a little more connected to far away friends and family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

