Klaus’s tree


I wheel past this tree about every other day when I’m ticking my ‘outdoor’ exercise box. One of the great things about living in the oldest part of Seattle is that so much of the landscaping has been here for so many years and lots of the different types of blossom trees are absolutely enormous and just wonderful to look at and enjoy at this time of year. Anyway, rolling past this tree the other day I commented to the man trimming it what a great tree it was. (Yes mother, I still talk to complete strangers!) Turns out the tree trimmer was Klaus who owns the house but rents it out and he was just thinking it was time to take the tree down because it was so much work for him to look after nowadays. Fast forward about an hour and by the time I rolled on to finish my loop I had learnt that Klaus had come to the US from Germany in 1957 when he was 19 ( ran out of money in Vancouver, hitched a ride to the Yukon….) and that all his children had been born in the house that goes with this tree which perhaps explains why he still rents it out instead of having sold it. He had also promised me that the tree would stay up at least for the rest of this year since I enjoyed it so much ; )
So, yet another interesting ‘walk buddy’ for me……amazing how I find them, hahaha ; )

About girlonahandcycle

Natural Brit/Naturalized American wife, mom, grandma and all around old broad still happily ignoring my MS (since 1985 - ha!). Every time it slows me down I find a way to speed back up which explains my very cool Tilite wheelchair and Top End handcycle ..........also my ripped arms ; ) Don't get back to the homeland or to other cool places quite as easily or often as I'd like anymore so theoretically my rambling here keeps me a little more connected to far away friends and family.
This entry was posted in life ........with wheels ; ) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

