more Seafair goings on…

Figured I’d go out relatively early today to get my couple of miles in – before it got too warm and before the Olympic swimming started. Checked the local news first and realized that the ships in town for Seafair would be doing their parade through Elliot Bay a little later so I got David to drop me at Anchor Park on the east end of Alki so that I could see them sail out and turn to come back in again. They were quicker than I was (surprise!) and were already out of the bay heading north before turning back but I got a good view of them including seeing the YM Kaohsiung on its way out from Tacoma having to wait for them to clear the channel. We have low tides again this week so there were lots of people out enjoying that and the sunshine on Alki beach. David turned up near the Alki Bathhouse and we did the rest of the beachfront together. Once we came back up to street level I asked him which way the car was….he SAID back the way we came so off we went, until we came to 64th and then he dithered a bit….was it down there…    not sure so I asked “quiet street or the one Cactus is on” – he said Cactus so off we went to 63rd. Crossed the road and suddenly he doesn’t think it’s on this street after all so we go back to 64th and head down there. No, of course it wasn’t down there either but this is my usual route home so I told him I was heading back and he was on his own to find the car  since I was already having flashbacks of my father in a multi-storey car park being convinced his car had been stolen when the rest of us knew darn well he’d just forgotten where he parked it 😉 Eventually David drives past as I’m rolling along Constellation Park and confesses that the car wasn’t on ANY of those streets – it had been on the main drag all along and we’d actually passed it once!

So – made it home, a little late for the swimming but I’m grabbing my coffee as I’m watching it on live streaming and as I glance out the window what do I see??! Yep – the Seafair ships sailing right past my window before turning around to go back along Alki Beach into Elliott Bay and right at Alki Point they get a great Seattle welcome from a fire boat 😉 I’m glad I got my fresh air and exercise in first but having the parade of ships go right past my deck was a very cool surprise! Enjoy the pictures David got…..

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

and I should tell you that the ships were the USS Bunker Hill, the USS Halsey and the USS New Orleans plus US and Canadian Coastguard.

About girlonahandcycle

Natural Brit/Naturalized American wife, mom, grandma and all around old broad still happily ignoring my MS (since 1985 - ha!). Every time it slows me down I find a way to speed back up which explains my very cool Tilite wheelchair and Top End handcycle ..........also my ripped arms ; ) Don't get back to the homeland or to other cool places quite as easily or often as I'd like anymore so theoretically my rambling here keeps me a little more connected to far away friends and family.
This entry was posted in life ........with wheels ; ) and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

