Seattle’s Big Wheel

I’d been watching and waiting over the past few days to see how Diana Nyad’s latest Cuba to Florida swim attempt went before I posted anything – didn’t want to jinx the poor girl but sadly she had to give up on her 4th attempt early today after jellyfish, sharks and the weather all caused problems for her. At 63, as of tomorrow, she’s allowed never to try it again but somehow I wouldn’t be shocked if she did!
Closer to home we caught the Water Taxi over to downtown to try out Seattle’s new ferris wheel this morning. All the enclosed air-conditioned cars are wheelchair accessible – they just take you around the back, get you up to boarding level by means of a wheelchair lift and then lay a piece of wood (leaning against the glass in one of the pictures – you can see David’s reflection in it!) across the step into the car to act as a ramp. The bench seats flip up so there’s room to turn your chair around and face whichever way you want ; )
After we’d enjoyed the views over the city and Elliott Bay we went north along the waterfront as far as the Sculpture Garden so I got my roll in before heading home for lunch via the Water Taxi again. Nearly maxed out my trusty Orca Card that I can use on local buses, trains and ferries so clearly once I post this I need to go online and load some more money onto that or I won’t be going anywhere soon!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About girlonahandcycle

Natural Brit/Naturalized American wife, mom, grandma and all around old broad still happily ignoring my MS (since 1985 - ha!). Every time it slows me down I find a way to speed back up which explains my very cool Tilite wheelchair and Top End handcycle ..........also my ripped arms ; ) Don't get back to the homeland or to other cool places quite as easily or often as I'd like anymore so theoretically my rambling here keeps me a little more connected to far away friends and family.
This entry was posted in life ........with wheels ; ) and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

