“Season of mists and mellow fruitfulness”

I threw out that quote when I was talking to our youngest earlier today on the phone and then had to go and check who wrote it. I thought it was Keats and was relieved to confirm that indeed it was but when I was looking it up I saw something about the Peterloo Massacre and a lightbulb went off. I couldn’t have come up with that name or event to save my life but once I saw it on the page I had just the clearest flashback to learning all about that at school years and years ago. These days I’m just gobsmacked sometimes at how much stuff I once knew and have now completely forgotten about. These days of “mellow fruitfulness” may not be all they’re cracked up to be 😉
But….back to the point of this post, it is fall now and of course that means football over here. David was thrilled to find out that his alma mater’s game was being streamed by espn3 today. Admittedly only because they’re playing a school with a bit more football heft than them but in any case he gets to see the game. Too bad that NC State are already leading 35-7 in the 2nd quarter but The Citadel was 3-0 coming into this game. Oh dear – there goes another NC State touchdown, maybe I should give David another beer now!
While the game is on I’m finally making that yeasted plum cake with the plums David picked from the tree across the street. Good job my kids know me well though – I had everything ready to go but I could NOT find my yeast. Emailed them and they both replied and said “don’t you keep it in the fridge?” ……… well yes I do you smart girls……just ignore the fact that I was searching in the pantry!

20120922-163723.jpg

About girlonahandcycle

Natural Brit/Naturalized American wife, mom, grandma and all around old broad still happily ignoring my MS (since 1985 - ha!). Every time it slows me down I find a way to speed back up which explains my very cool Tilite wheelchair and Top End handcycle ..........also my ripped arms ; ) Don't get back to the homeland or to other cool places quite as easily or often as I'd like anymore so theoretically my rambling here keeps me a little more connected to far away friends and family.
This entry was posted in life, life ........with wheels ; ) and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Season of mists and mellow fruitfulness”

  1. oh – I thought it was so that we had someone to embarrass in public!! Silly me 😉

  2. Joan C. Zittnan says:

    Do not feel bad about having to ask your children for this information…after all, isn’t that the reason we had children…to take care of us in our dotage! 🙂

Leave a Reply

