back to ‘normal’ around here ;)

Well we both managed one of our normal workouts yesterday with no more after effects than usual so I think we can safely say we’re both over that stupid cold that slowed us down so much. David got it the day we flew south so poor guy was trying to talk to lots of his old classmates that he only sees every 5 years without losing his voice – he didn’t do so well at that! My symptoms didn’t kick in until Saturday afternoon and I was bailed out at dinner on Sunday night by my guardian angel Terry. Not only did she stop off on the way to the restaurant to get me some medicine, but when she found out they had closed two minutes before she got there she threw enough of a fit to make them reopen and serve her – impressive stuff 😉 The medicine worked like a dream too – stopped my nose running into my dinner, let me breathe, keep drinking my gin and tonic AND then sleep all night – let’s hear it for Terry, patron saint of a good time!
Of course, as well as meeting up with the girls, David’s classmates and lots of family members in Charleston we were all pretty excited at the chance to fill up on the great southern food to be found there. Our ‘foodie’ girls had already planned pretty much where and what they wanted to eat before they got there. Sadly some of the restaurants like Fig and Husk were already full on the nights they were there but they went to McCrady’s and loved it, we went to Anson’s and had a fabulous time and then on Sunday we were met up with Terry & Ed at Blossom. We actually hadn’t decided exactly WHICH restaurant we were going to since there are 3 altogether owned by the same people – Magnolia, Blossom and Cypress. We agreed to meet up in the parking lot in between them – yes, they have free off street parking, GOOD deal! Anyway, after a day that was 79 degrees and humid we were treated to a good old fashioned burst of southern thunder and lightning on the way downtown and just after we got out of the car the heavens opened so we took shelter in the nearest restaurant and stayed there. Food and service were great so it was a good call. Of course, the South isn’t quite as easy on vegetarians as the Pacific Northwest but everywhere we ate was great as far as suggesting options and making up plates for me so I was a happy camper and got to eat lots of good grits along with many excellent vegetables 😉
A week later I’m back to cooking all the meals and another 79 degree day is a long, long way away but it was a very fun interlude and now we’re both fighting fit again I have a date with James Bond and a good happy hour buddy in my immediate future so life is good!

Anson’s fabulous golden beet salad

About girlonahandcycle

Natural Brit/Naturalized American wife, mom, grandma and all around old broad still happily ignoring my MS (since 1985 - ha!). Every time it slows me down I find a way to speed back up which explains my very cool Tilite wheelchair and Top End handcycle ..........also my ripped arms ; ) Don't get back to the homeland or to other cool places quite as easily or often as I'd like anymore so theoretically my rambling here keeps me a little more connected to far away friends and family.
This entry was posted in life, life ........with wheels ; ) and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

