and she’s back ;)

IMG_0607
Since taking an 8 day break didn’t do it this time I waited 13 before climbing back onto the bike trainer and 42 minutes later I am very happy to report no more pain and a full workout completed – yeeha!
One of my friends asked me the other day (over happy hour – imagine!) why I didn’t just do less time on the bike trainer until everything felt better. Well of course I had no good answer….I was probably choking on my wine just at the thought of not doing a full workout. Many times I get on the bike and it’s hard at the beginning so I go through this mental thing of saying to myself “I’ll just get to the halfway point and if it’s still tough I can stop then” Have I ever quit halfway?? Of course not….. once I get to that point I can play the “just one more song” game and suddenly there’s the magic 40 minutes and I’m done πŸ˜‰
So what’s the deal really…….does everyone who works out regularly have a trick that never lets them quit before they think they’re done…..is it that living with a degenerative disease I know very well that once it’s gone, it’s gone so I never give up until there’s no other choice……..or is it just my personality and I’m hardwired to pick a point and get to that place no matter what???
I have no idea but I might lean towards being hardwired that way since I can’t leave a crossword or a kenken unfinished either but then I have a husband who thinks that open heart surgery is the only good reason to miss his Monday, Wednesday and Saturday racquetball sessions and thinks nothing of flying to Amsterdam, getting to his hotel and then going out biking for 3 1/2 hours so……. maybe it’s the athlete thing??
Whatever the answer, I feel good now πŸ˜‰ oh, and since this is the day Andy Murray came back from 2 sets down to get into the semifinals at Wimbledon you could have guessed that this was not the day I was going to quit!

About girlonahandcycle

Natural Brit/Naturalized American wife, mom, grandma and all around old broad still happily ignoring my MS (since 1985 - ha!). Every time it slows me down I find a way to speed back up which explains my very cool Tilite wheelchair and Top End handcycle ..........also my ripped arms ; ) Don't get back to the homeland or to other cool places quite as easily or often as I'd like anymore so theoretically my rambling here keeps me a little more connected to far away friends and family.
This entry was posted in life, life ........with wheels ; ) and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

