little and large

Since the US Open started today you can probably guess what I’ve been doing since I got up – not straying far from my computer where the official website holds court that’s for sure. (yes I know, I’m so funny)
So, if I couldn’t do it within sight of my computer screen it didn’t get done today…… although it’s amazing what I can get done without taking my eyes of the screen 😉 Having seen Tomic and Nadal get through to the 2nd round I’m watching the 5th set of the Verdasco/Dodig match as I type this and I’m hoping they get to play it out but the rain in New York is being a little unpredictable at the moment.
Fortunately, as you’ll see, I can look out of the windows without moving anything more than my head when I’m in front of the screen and look at what I noticed sail past this morning –
IMG_0987 that would be the tall ship Lady Washington, star of many films and TV shows (Lady Washington has appeared in various films, portraying HMS Interceptor in the film Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl and the brig Enterprise, a namesake of the Starship Enterprise, on the holodeck in Star Trek Generations. She also provided the basis for the RLS Legacy in the Disney animated feature Treasure Planet. On television, the ship has appeared in the music video for rapper Macklemore’s Can’t Hold Us and as Captain Hook’s ship on Once Upon a Time.)
but perhaps most famously at the moment for Macklemore’s video Can’t Hold Us, which won Video of the Year at the MTV Video Music Awards last night!
She was on her way to Kirkland, along with this ship
IMG_0988 the Hawaiian Chieftain, where they’ll stay through the Labor Day weekend.

About an hour later I spotted the YM Djibouti heading out of Tacoma to Pusan. This ship got my attention two days ago when it sailed in. I was up, for absolutely no good reason, at five o’clock in the morning and it was still dark out so I could only see her lights but even just from those I knew she was big. Looked her up on my live ships website and she turned out to be 349m x 46m. That’s 13m longer than any ship I’ve ever seen sail into Tacoma so I was thrilled to see her in the daylight today 😉
IMG_0992
a bit more of an impressive sight than this, right??
IMG_0979 (Oh of course I took a picture – it was 5am – what else was there to do???!)

About girlonahandcycle

Natural Brit/Naturalized American wife, mom, grandma and all around old broad still happily ignoring my MS (since 1985 - ha!). Every time it slows me down I find a way to speed back up which explains my very cool Tilite wheelchair and Top End handcycle ..........also my ripped arms ; ) Don't get back to the homeland or to other cool places quite as easily or often as I'd like anymore so theoretically my rambling here keeps me a little more connected to far away friends and family.
This entry was posted in life, life ........with wheels ; ) and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

