timing is everything…… in so many ways! ;)

DSCN5691
So there are many things to deal with when you travel with a disability and you just have to plan as well as you can and accept that things won’t go quite as normal while you’re away. Having a husband who travels with me and can lift me up makes many things possible but it’s just a given that you don’t get to move as much as you do at home. Getting in and out of strange cars and beds and showers and obviously on and off different toilets all require help because you’re usually not there long enough to learn how to adapt and do it by yourself. This means that for me I end up doing a lot less physical stuff than normal and that shows up in so many ways – increased spasticity, more clonus (shaking) and much less muscle control. It’s all so worth it (look at the picture – Spring in the Cotswolds is fabulous!!) to get to go places and see people and I just am used to it taking a while to get back to ‘normal’ (ha!) when I get home again. My digestive system slows down just like everything else though and you do the best you can but I couldn’t stop laughing when this turned up in my inbox this morning! 😉

Improved Bowel Function for Wheelchair Users.

So now own up – who has CCTV in my bathroom????! 😉

About girlonahandcycle

Natural Brit/Naturalized American wife, mom, grandma and all around old broad still happily ignoring my MS (since 1985 - ha!). Every time it slows me down I find a way to speed back up which explains my very cool Tilite wheelchair and Top End handcycle ..........also my ripped arms ; ) Don't get back to the homeland or to other cool places quite as easily or often as I'd like anymore so theoretically my rambling here keeps me a little more connected to far away friends and family.
This entry was posted in life, life ........with wheels ; ), travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

