so they DO work with wheelchairs! ;)

I always wondered if any of those fitness tracking bands that are all the rage these days would register anything properly when you were in a wheelchair all the time. Well, thanks to one of my great neighbours (who just happened to be partying on the deck with a few of us a couple of nights ago)IMG_1506
I woke up to find one of these on my wrist the next morning IMG_1479 and once I remembered how it got there πŸ˜‰ I tried to take notice of how many steps it registered for the 2 days that I had it. It apparently kept track of a lot more than just steps but I had no idea what Fuel meant and I didn’t really care about calories but when you’d reached your goal in steps you got a green light and I did always love instant gratification πŸ˜‰ On the first day I went for a roll down to the main part of Alki and back – about 2 1/2 miles and this is what I’d accrued by that evening. IMG_1485 The next day I did a normal workout on my handcycle on the bike trainer and by happy hour that afternoon it showed this. IMG_1496. And yes, I know they’re horrible pictures but you try taking them one-handed with your phone! Anyway, I’m impressed that it worked and it’s a nice bit of extra motivation. Yeah yeah, I know – like I need more huh?! Now I might just wait and see what Apple brings to the game this fall if I manage not to have to treat myself to something else to play with before then πŸ˜‰

About girlonahandcycle

Natural Brit/Naturalized American wife, mom, grandma and all around old broad still happily ignoring my MS (since 1985 - ha!). Every time it slows me down I find a way to speed back up which explains my very cool Tilite wheelchair and Top End handcycle ..........also my ripped arms ; ) Don't get back to the homeland or to other cool places quite as easily or often as I'd like anymore so theoretically my rambling here keeps me a little more connected to far away friends and family.
This entry was posted in life, life ........with wheels ; ) and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

