January sunshine

IMG_3360A little hidden for sure but not entirely blotted out like the rest of the view. Days like this do make getting back to my workout schedule a little easier though because there’s nothing else to distract me ๐Ÿ™‚
I had taken exactly 6 weeks off after not being able to work through or ignore my right arm issues back in November. I couldn’t tell if I’d actually hurt something whilst rolling or hand cycling, irritated the disc I’d herniated a few years ago or was just having an MS flare up. Whatever it was, the answer was going to be to take a rest from working out with it and wait for it to get better so I did just that. Luckily there’s plenty going on around the holidays so my exercise withdrawal pangs weren’t bad at all and the timing turned out to be perfect because by the time the celebrations were over and the lights and decorations had come down my arm didn’t hurt anymore and I could finally move it behind my head far enough to brush my hair again so I figured handcycle workouts were back on the menu.

Now my last session on the bike trainer was November 24th and I did 57 minutes and it felt GREAT. Got on it yesterday and I wasn’t sure I was even going to be able to get through the first song! Talked myself into doing at least 2 and then of course having made it that far I went to 3. After 3 I figured I might as well do 5 because that would be around 20 minutes and that wasn’t SO awful. Checked the time after the fifth song and it was 21 minutes so heck… why not just go for 30?? Can you tell how easily I could talk myself into getting into trouble when I was younger??! ๐Ÿ™‚
Anyway, I had the good sense to quit at 30 minutes because it certainly wasn’t feeling ‘great’ and I needed to be back doing this every other day again so I didn’t want to be so sore or trashed the next day that I couldn’t do that. So – nice to be back in the saddle even if it’s not quite at my previous level. Even better was the fact that it was Monday and I had my usual happy hour with five of my neighbors this week as celebration for my recovery and return to exercise. Oh yes, I’m very reward driven! ๐Ÿ˜‰

About girlonahandcycle

Natural Brit/Naturalized American wife, mom, grandma and all around old broad still happily ignoring my MS (since 1985 - ha!). Every time it slows me down I find a way to speed back up which explains my very cool Tilite wheelchair and Top End handcycle ..........also my ripped arms ; ) Don't get back to the homeland or to other cool places quite as easily or often as I'd like anymore so theoretically my rambling here keeps me a little more connected to far away friends and family.
This entry was posted in life, life ........with wheels ; ) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

