my klutz move of the day!

well it was actually yesterday, but still very klutzy! These are the castorsIMG_4492 that I have on the front of my wheelchair – the tiny wheels that let you turn on a dime when you need to. Normally I have absolutely nothing bad to say about them since they work like a charm and absorb lots of the bumps when I’m out and about to smooth out my ride. Getting ready for bed last night though, I was wearing wide leg pants and I had just begun to slip them off when I decided to just back up a little and pick something up, probably the remote, to take it with me to the bed. Well, my pants material got wrapped around one of the castors so I reverse my move to free it but of course the castor turns the other way and my pants leg gets more wrapped up in it. Once the castor won’t move you’re pretty much staying where you are so I fiddle around with it as much as I can trying to free the material but no go….. and I’m still wearing these pants remember, I’d only just started to take them off. So there I am – halfway between the bathroom and my bed and I can’t roll to either one and my pants are half off (or half on depending how you look at it!) Good job I have that wonderful British sense of humor because I figured I was going to look pretty stupid if I ended up having to call someone to come and bail me out (and yes Joke that would have been you!) but at least I had that option since I was smart enough to have my cellphone on me – phew 😉
Anyway, I managed to get my pants all the way off (not that easy, believe me when you’re sitting down in a wheelchair and one of the legs is fouled up in a wheel!) and then I discovered that it made no difference anyway, I still couldn’t get it out! Only thing left to try was tipping the wheelchair back and moving on just the 2 big wheels. If I had any balance at all that would have been a lot easier but sadly with my MS, balance was one of the first things to go! It was manageable in very short ‘hops’ though so that’s what I did. Took me about 15 minutes to get there but I was able to get out of the chair and onto the bed. Then I had to lean over and tip the chair up so that I could get at the castors. Another 10 minutes or so faffing about and I managed to get my pants out without resorting to ripping them – always a good thing!
So, that was my wild and crazy night! Tonight David gets home so hopefully it will be much more exciting 🙂
In the meantime I’ll be waiting for Springs last sunset with a gin & tonic on the deck and a little earlier this afternoon I could see all that smoke from the Tacoma Marina that any of you watching the US Open could see too. And no, I do not have wide leg pants on today so I’m safe 🙂

About girlonahandcycle

Natural Brit/Naturalized American wife, mom, grandma and all around old broad still happily ignoring my MS (since 1985 - ha!). Every time it slows me down I find a way to speed back up which explains my very cool Tilite wheelchair and Top End handcycle ..........also my ripped arms ; ) Don't get back to the homeland or to other cool places quite as easily or often as I'd like anymore so theoretically my rambling here keeps me a little more connected to far away friends and family.
This entry was posted in life, life ........with wheels ; ). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

