Words of Wisdom! ;)

Thursdays are my day for helping out at the Log House Museum and yesterday, one of my partners-in-crime, Nancy, brought in her original ration books from 1942 in case the museum could use them for their next exhibit. (Westside Stories: Home)
IMG_4655

IMG_4656
I love those final words of wisdom on the back – “If you don’t need it, DON’T BUY IT”. They should have a sign saying that at the entrance to every Costco 🙂

Talking about wartime rationing reminded me that I have the first cookbook my Dad bought my Mom back in 1949, before they were married.
IMG_4666
Clearly rationing was still an everyday part of life in England even 4 years after WW2 had ended. Gotta love such typical English understatement though – “the meat ration for two is a bit of a headache…” and “Even if that little bit of meat does look a bit grim…”
IMG_4671

David is already on his way home from the airport so time for me to get moving – obviously our heatwave ended yesterday and last night’s wind blew away the Canadian forest fire smoke that had lingered for most of the week – he always has this kind of perfect timing! Tennis is done for the day so once David takes his nap I can get my bike trainer workout done and tick another of my boxes. Just think, after the Wimbledon final on Sunday I won’t  have to get up at 5 something in the morning to watch it anymore so that’s something to look forward to even though I’ll miss the great tennis. 🙂

About girlonahandcycle

Natural Brit/Naturalized American wife, mom, grandma and all around old broad still happily ignoring my MS (since 1985 - ha!). Every time it slows me down I find a way to speed back up which explains my very cool Tilite wheelchair and Top End handcycle ..........also my ripped arms ; ) Don't get back to the homeland or to other cool places quite as easily or often as I'd like anymore so theoretically my rambling here keeps me a little more connected to far away friends and family.
This entry was posted in life, life ........with wheels ; ) and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

