well here’s a good question…….

..to ponder over while you wait for Santa to arrive (or if you’re me, the rest of your family to fly in!)

Way back in September there was a piece in the New York Times that asked what you would see, or hear for the first time all over again. It’s an arts related question so they weren’t looking for personal experiences like having a baby or meeting your future partner. There were answers from various cultural figures in the article that ran the gamut from seeing Tosca for the first time to playing someone’s Stradivarius to eating at Momofuku. It was fascinating and so hard to think of just one experience that I wanted to relive. Fairly typically for me there were so many moments looking back that seemed so important but was it the benefit of hindsight that gave them more weight than perhaps I did in the moment? Hard to tell when it was such a long time ago but I do remember my high school English teacher taking a group of us to see  Rosenkrantz and Guildenstern are Dead – my very first Tom Stoppard play and I have been in awe of everything I have seen of his ever since then, perhaps nothing more so than Arcadia here at ACT Theatre in Seattle. Many, many moons ago I talked David into taking me to the Majestic Theatre in San Antonio to see Rudolph Nureyev dance and perhaps I wasn’t awed at the time but I will die happy knowing that I saw him dance in person at least once. Music-wise I was spoiled rotten growing up in England in the 60s and 70s – who didn’t I listen to and get to see in concert?! Queen’s early music was unsurpassed in my 6th form days at Grammar School there and I remember playing truant one day just to go to the Tate Gallery in London to see Richard Dadd’s painting The Fairy Feller’s Master Stroke that inspired Freddie Mercury’s song of the same name.

Like I said, way too much to choose from but I enjoyed pondering the question and perhaps it will give you something to think about tonight if Christmas morning doesn’t arrive quickly enough 🙂

IMG_0116 IMG_0126

..and yes, I thought about it again today because you’ve been able to stream the entire catalogue of The Beatles music since midnight and listening to them all day has been reminding me of my youth!

About girlonahandcycle

Natural Brit/Naturalized American wife, mom, grandma and all around old broad still happily ignoring my MS (since 1985 - ha!). Every time it slows me down I find a way to speed back up which explains my very cool Tilite wheelchair and Top End handcycle ..........also my ripped arms ; ) Don't get back to the homeland or to other cool places quite as easily or often as I'd like anymore so theoretically my rambling here keeps me a little more connected to far away friends and family.
This entry was posted in art, life, life ........with wheels ; ). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

