accessible parking FAIL!!

OK so we were off to Seattle’s wonderful downtown library for a friend’s book launch yesterday and rather than risk being late looking for available street parking (haha…like there ever IS any on a Saturday!) we pulled into the parking garage on Spring St. right next to the library. Got a disabled parking space right across from the elevators – all good until you get to the bottom and find out there are steps to 5th Street. There is a wheelchair lift of course but no button to press and no phone to use. The powers that be (in this case ACE Parking who run the garage I guess) make the assumption that you will apparently have a phone of your own on you and that you will be able to use it. Now remember that this is a wheelchair lift so that’s a pretty big assumption given that I know plenty of people in wheelchairs that don’t have the hand mobility to make a call and I have gone out without my phone a gazillion times. Anyway, made the call and an attendant came after a few minutes. He clearly wasn’t used to working the lift and had it start and stop over several minutes before he eventually got it to work properly. Went to the book launch which was great, headed out afterwards and called the attendant to get me back up to the elevators only to have someone that had absolutely NO IDEA what to do and was talking on the phone to someone else who had no idea either. Luckily I have one of these lifts at home to get me in and out of the garage so I know exactly how they work and talked him through the whole thing but come on!! This is a huge parking garage in downtown Seattle that also provides parking for a hotel so there’s no excuse for not having a call button or people who are trained to operate the lift – it’s not like we don’t pay enough to park there in the first place – grrrr!!!!IMG_6167

Luckily the book launch was more than worth that little bit of hassle and I’m already reading all about the history of Vancouver ready to roll through it next time we’re down that way and my buddy Barb had better know I have a walking route to drag her on next time I hit her place in Bellevue for one of my Wednesday evening visits 🙂IMG_6175

 

About girlonahandcycle

Natural Brit/Naturalized American wife, mom, grandma and all around old broad still happily ignoring my MS (since 1985 - ha!). Every time it slows me down I find a way to speed back up which explains my very cool Tilite wheelchair and Top End handcycle ..........also my ripped arms ; ) Don't get back to the homeland or to other cool places quite as easily or often as I'd like anymore so theoretically my rambling here keeps me a little more connected to far away friends and family.
This entry was posted in life, life ........with wheels ; ) and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

