handrim adventures!

OK so I have nice Natural Fit handrims on my wheelchair wheels that make pushing easier and more effective but after a while the coating wears off and you get black all over your hands or gloves and consequently all over anything else you may touch – see the pic of the lime green dress? Yeah, not pretty huh?!!

So I call up the manufacturers and of course they say they’ve never heard of this happening before……..that was easier to believe when I called them about the same problem with my first pair of their handrims 5 years ago and before there were comments all over the internet about getting black everywhere once the coating wore off the aluminum base. Anyway, it was down to replacing just the thumb strips $88+ or the whole handrims $300+ when David had the bright idea of just getting them re-powdercoated somewhere. He just picked them up for me today and put them back on – don’t they look prettier than the before version in the above pictures? So now we’ll see how long they last before the finish starts coming off and I get black hands again. Recoating was less than half the cost of new handrims so if they last a couple of years I’ll be happy 🙂

In other news my insurance company still hasn’t paid for any of my Max Mobility Smart Drive  because despite a letter of medical necessity from my MS doc they want to see clinical records and test results to prove that I’ve tried other ways to manage without this power assist……??!! Like what exactly – having someone with me at all times to push me up the ramps and hills I can no longer manage by myself??? Yeah – because that’s feasible or desirable! So now I’m having to call my doc up and get her to be more specific about why a power assist is a good idea for me. I love paying my insurance company lots of money every month and then having to do their job for them because apparently the fact that I have a degenerative disease and have been a full time wheelchair user for over 12 years just isn’t enough to make having a power assist reasonable! Should I ask them to cover the cost of recoating my handrims too I wonder, hahaha 😉

Yes United Healthcare – I’m talking about you!!!

Stay tuned!

 

About girlonahandcycle

Natural Brit/Naturalized American wife, mom, grandma and all around old broad still happily ignoring my MS (since 1985 - ha!). Every time it slows me down I find a way to speed back up which explains my very cool Tilite wheelchair and Top End handcycle ..........also my ripped arms ; ) Don't get back to the homeland or to other cool places quite as easily or often as I'd like anymore so theoretically my rambling here keeps me a little more connected to far away friends and family.
This entry was posted in life, life ........with wheels ; ) and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

