Canoes!

Last Wednesday Alki Beach was an overnight stop on the Paddle to Nisqually 2016 and we made it home in time to see a Seattle Fireboat welcome for all the canoes lined up on shore. Since we’d missed their arrival we made sure we went back down to the beach in the morning so that we could catch their departure. Alki hadn’t been on the route of any of the local Tribal Canoe Journeys for 4 years so it was nice to see them back again 🙂

  • and I forgot all about this earlier but when David was on the beach taking pictures of the canoes launching on Thursday morning he also saw a pod of common dolphins out there in Elliott Bay 🙂

For more information on this years tribal canoe journey click here.

Since they were heading south we got to see them one more time as they travelled in front of our house but they were pretty small by then!IMG_7238

Took me a while to get these pictures up because we were relatively busy for the 3 days that David was home between trips but now he’s off hiking in Hong Kong again and I’m getting back to my normal daily routine or at least close to it. Late today I headed out to roll a couple of miles and as I was going through Constellation Park approaching Alki Point I heard someone yelling my name…. I slowed down (yeah, I’m rolling SO fast, hahaha) and looked around………    it wasn’t anyone on the sidewalk….     not in any of the parked cars, not on the beach……..  oh yeah – there was Peter, one of my neighbors……in a kayak out in Puget Sound! He paddled closer to shore and I rolled down to the beach so that we could yell back and forth for a while.

My ‘Only in West Seattle’ moment for the day 🙂

About girlonahandcycle

Natural Brit/Naturalized American wife, mom, grandma and all around old broad still happily ignoring my MS (since 1985 - ha!). Every time it slows me down I find a way to speed back up which explains my very cool Tilite wheelchair and Top End handcycle ..........also my ripped arms ; ) Don't get back to the homeland or to other cool places quite as easily or often as I'd like anymore so theoretically my rambling here keeps me a little more connected to far away friends and family.
This entry was posted in life, life ........with wheels ; ) and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

